Site Loader

The small birds you might see chirping and hopping near your home are sweet, but there are birds that look fierce and put fear into their prey. In this lesson you will learn about the types of birds know as birds of prey, and their habitats.

Characteristics and Types of Birds of Prey

Birds of prey are predators, animals that hunt other animals such as mice, other rodents, and insects. They are also known as raptors, a term that comes from the Latin word ‘rapere’ which means ‘to capture’. These birds have very strong eyesight, which allows them to see their prey clearly and from a distance. They have sharp claws, also called talons, that help them scoop up their prey as they swoop down.

Last but not least, their curved beaks allow them to hook into their prey to clean the animal before they eat it.Hundreds of birds fall into the category of bird of prey, and many can fall into multiple categories. To keep this lesson a little simpler, we’ll focus on six major kinds of birds of prey: owls, vultures, eagles, hawks, and falcons.

Best services for writing your paper according to Trustpilot

Premium Partner
From $18.00 per page
4,8 / 5
Writers Experience
Recommended Service
From $13.90 per page
4,6 / 5
Writers Experience
From $20.00 per page
4,5 / 5
Writers Experience
* All Partners were chosen among 50+ writing services by our Customer Satisfaction Team


There are about 200 species of owls which include the screech owl, great horned owl, barn owl and snowy owl.

Most owls live in the forests, deserts, and mountains.

Different kinds of owls

Owls usually eat mice, rats, rabbits, and sometimes small birds, while the larger owls also might eat large ducks and skunks. Owls might live about 10 or 15 years in the wild.

The size of owls ranges from the elf owl, which weighs 1 oz and is 5 inches long, to the eagle owl, which weighs up to 10 pounds and is about 29 inches with a wingspan of about 7 feet.


Image of a vulture

There are over 30 species of vultures around the world, which live everywhere except Australia (and surrounding islands) and also Antarctica.

Vultures are scavengers which means they eat animals that are already dead, rather than hunting live ones. These birds can live up to 30 years, and weigh up to 5 pounds. They grow up to 32 inches in length, with 72 inches in wingspan, and can fly up to 30 miles per hour.


There are 60 different species of eagles.

Bald eagles weigh up to 18 pounds and measure up to 38 inches long, while their wingspan is almost 8 feet long.

If feathers that allow wind to pass through
  • Lab Report for the Limiting Factors of the Cedar Glade
  • What is called an eaglet? Eaglets hatch from
  • You for food. Conversely, prey is a term
  • In to create a longer table. But, you
  • There that cover their legs, down to
  • There In fact, in Tasmania, the wedge-tailed eagle
  • Watch often when measuring rooms and other largish
  • What introduced species is a factor in the
  • This how an invasive species gets to its
  • Post Author: admin


    I'm Eric!

    Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

    Check it out